THE BIRD’S PRAYER

O. G. Amaowoh
3 min readJan 2, 2021

--

This is not the return of the occasional writer by any means. I do not write merely for content but only when I feel something in my spirit that needs to be addressed or something that needs to be shared. This brings us to this short story.

It was the 1st of January and I was having a conversation with a friend about our goals for the year. I made a comment about how I’m not afraid of the unknown and how I didn’t really care if someone was out there to get me this year. She said I sounded really confident. As I later pondered on what I had said, the Bird’s prayer dropped in my heart.

Bird on a tree giving thanks in its own words (simply put, a bird chirping)
Image of bird chirping

I asked myself what the prayer of the bird could be every morning. I tried to put myself in the mind of the bird. The birds don’t plant but they eat. They really don’t labor much(well maybe by birds’ terms of labor they actually labor much, I mean, I’ve never been a bird) but everyday they sing praises to God because they know for sure that their needs will be met by God so they spend less time asking but more time praising and also more time going out to seize their days. This is recorded in Matthew 6:26.

“Look at the birds, they don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them”..(NLT)

I wondered what the Bird’s prayer could be. I knew for sure it must be really effective. I know birds actually have bad days. For example, A bird might be flying out to do bird stuff and we humans either cry out to them to give us white fingers or because they are so cute, we throw stones at them in an attempt to win them over as pets (did they tell you that they loved you so much to want to be kept as your pet, Mister Emmanuel?). However, the bird notwithstanding this fear, still heads out everyday to seize the day with thanksgiving in their hearts.

I tried to analyze these events and relate them to our lives as humans, who are far more precious than birds. Due to the past year’s sequel of “bad meets evil” some of us have decided to not do anything about our goals this new year. Some of us are too afraid to make any new plans because of how bad last year’s plans crashed in our faces. I hope you could learn a thing from the birds. Regardless of the uncertainty, be thankful when you pray everyday. Make your plans and go out and make it happen. When your wings get broken or hurt, be sure to rest and give yourself sometime to heal and then get back there and seize your day. You will find new strength and even soar high on wings like the eagle. Yeah people might throw stones at you because you fly so gracefully but don’t let it distract you. Keep flapping those wings and you’ll get to your destination.

-Matthew 2:26 “Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable than they are?” (NLT)

Unlike the birds, we as humans have been given the ability to think and plan our lives and our days. Go ahead and activate that plan you were so afraid of because you were uncertain about what the new year holds or for whatever reason it is that wants to hold you back.

That being said, please don’t let fear stop you from achieving what you plan to do. Be thankful in your prayers everyday with the mindset that you will be alright and all you need will be provided. And most importantly, please take action. Don’t spend time worrying

Happy new year!

stay fly :)

--

--